Lamai | Ko Samui

image

image

image

image

If you do a simple google search of best beaches in Koh Samui, Lamai will be one of the top two. So naturally, I was so excited to get there.

I was very disappointed. It was much more sketchy than the North side of the island I have grown to love. There are signs everywhere in the city warning against pick-pocketers and bag-snatchers, but I would have been keeping my bag close regardless of the signs. There is a very sketchy skeezy feeling to the shop keepers and tourists in Lamai. I walked from my hotel through the city and made the 2 mile walk to the beach, clutching my bag and making don’t-mess-with-me eyes (very effective) at everyone. It was crowded and although beautiful, not worth much more than a long walk.

Leave a Reply

